The Market Street Revitalization Project
In accordance with RSDC's mission to reinvest in their city and to provide attractive, affordable, safe places to work and live, The West Market Street Revitalization Project was developed. The renovation of the properties formerly known as Woolworth, Weinbrom and Zakies in the Central Business District of downtown York preserves the historical significance of the architectural style and historic background, as well as improve design and functionality of the currently vacant commercial space. A key component within in the development plan was the creation of a thriving urban community with a "live where you work" mentality. The REVI Flats community, with modern amenities and planned green spaces, provide chic, residential living above the new retail space, resulting in a complete revitalization of the first block of West Market Street.
25-27 West Market Street
Constructed between 1900 and 1904, the former Morgan Supply Co. was then used as various offices, until it was extensively restored using historic tax credits in the early 1980s. In 1985, it became home to one of York's premier nightclubs, Zakies. Along with Granfallons, First Capital Dispensing Company and The Golden Bear, Zakies was popular among the York entertainment scene. The club shut it's doors in 1992, starting a domino effect, which lead to the closing of many Market Street hot spots.
RSDC developed the first floor of this space into into a large, single use, restaurant space, now occupied by Fig and Barrel. The 2nd-4th stories of the building will be transformed into six market rate apartments, plus a high-end penthouse suite, overlooking Market Street.
54-56 West Market Street
On September 28, 1962, Weinbrom Jewelers celebrated the grand opening of its new, larger, and more conveniently located storefront at the busiest intersection in Downtown York. West Market Street and South Beaver Street. As the only member of the American Gem Society in the York area, Weinbrom Jewelers housed what was, at the time, the only completely modern Gem Testing Laboratory in the area.
The building has been developed into six retail spaces on Beaver Street, and a first floor anchor commercial space around the corner on Market Street. The second floor will be transformed into eight market rate apartments.
44-50 West Market Street
Built in 1913, the Woolworth Building is one of the few remaining examples of the larger, Colonial Revival buildings that lined York in the 1800s. Resting upon the grave of Philip Livingstone, a signor of the Declaration of Independence, the building was opened as the F.W. Woolworth Co. in 1913. At what was the center of the community's retail marketing area, the store secured York's entry in the world of "Five and Dime" stores, a staple in an era when a nickel or dime offered much more purchasing power. After losing it's upper floor tenants, the store close it's doors in 1997.
The building has been developed into one large retail space on the first floor, with a 30-vehicle parking area in the rear. It has an addition of two stories, which house 21 market rate apartmentsm, with an open air common area for outdoor entertaining and leisure. To learn more about leasing options at 44 Revi Flats visit here.